The different types of cricket matches


In broad terms, the two main types of cricket matches are those where each team has two innings and are played over several days, and limited overs matches where each team bats once and the game is usually confined to one day. Both games have 11 players on each team plus a “12th man”.

Traditional cricket followers prefer the longer version, but the popularity of the limited overs versions, especially Twenty20, may eventually result in fewer Test matches and a greater number of shorter games played at a fast pace in an almost carnival-like atmosphere at night.

Other types of cricket include indoor cricket, backyard cricket, French cricket, beach cricket, and Kwik cricket.

Cricket – the long game

Most matches that are played over several days are first class matches and this includes “Test” matches between nations and also matches between counties, states or other regions within a country…

View original post 998 more words

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s